This feature allows you to set a prohibition window for communications (both email and Sms) sent by Sense. Users have the ability to set blackout windows at 2 levels - the agency default as well as customization on an individual touchpoint level.
- You can choose whether or not to apply the default blackout window to all email and SMS messages sent via journeys. For any sending that is triggered during the blackout window, you can choose whether to delay them or cancel them.
- You can also override these default settings within the scheduling options of any individual email or SMS communication within any journey.
Click on Settings > General settings
You can set the start and end time of the Blackout window.
Default for SMS messages
Default for email messages
Settings in General Settings Page
. Blackout start
- By default, it will be set to "No blackout". Then there are 48 additional options, one for every 30 minutes in a 24-hour period, starting at "12:00 AM" and ending at "11:30 PM"
- Time zone can be updated to the agency's time zone (Above it is mentioned as PST)
. Blackout end
There are 24 options, one for every 30 minutes in a moving 12 hour period
- Blackout period that is greater than 12 hours is not allowed
- Blackout period of zero hours is not allowed
The order and label of each option is updated when the “Blackout starts” input is blurred
- The 1st option is 30 minutes after the selected start time option (e.g. if start is "11:30 AM", then the 1st option is "12:00 PM")
- After the "11:30 PM" option, any subsequent options are labelled with "+1". (e.g. after 11:30 PM" then next option is "12:00 AM +1", then "12:30 AM +1")
- There's an additional 23 options, one for every 30 minutes in the 12 hours that follow the 1st option (e.g. if the 1st option is "12:00 PM", then the last option is "11:30 AM +1")
- If the selected option of the start time input is "No blackout", then the end time input is disabled and its display value is set to "N/A"
Time zone can be updated to the agency's time zone (Above it is mentioned as PST)
. Sending during blackout hours
This option is hidden while “blackout start” is set to “no blackout”, and visible while “blackout start” has any other value
You can either set it to
- Move all sends - to after blackout hours : Will shifts all the triggered touchpoints during this blackout window will move after the blockout window ends.
- Don’t send - if message is triggered during blackout : It will stop sending messages.
Settings in Touchpoint Scheduling Page
The blackout option is available in the following circumstances:
- trigger = "on change"
While scheduling the touchpoint, you can also use the Default Blackout settings.
Or else you can override the Default blackout settings by selecting the option "No".
You can take a look at the steps mentioned above to set up touchpoint specific Blackout window.
The "During weekends:" setting is available when
trigger = "on change"
trigger = "on a date and finished on that date"
- when date's type = (and of the three "field..." options)
- When "During weekends:" is set to any option except "Send all..."
- There may be chance to messages to move to new day due to
- Any messages that is moved to a new day due to the disallowed weekends may fall during the blackout time on a Friday or a Monday.
- If that day is a Friday, and if the blackout option is set to “Move send — until the next day, after blackout hours”, then the message is delayed until the following Monday during the non-blackout times.